Y?

Paul Smith recently was interviewed by The Talks. This was the question and response that struck me:

How do you think growing up today differs?

I worry that today’s younger generation are sort of living life as a business plan. It’s all very predictable and very cliché and not very spontaneous because they’re very self-conscious about how things should be. And in the ’60s there was never that because these young artists were just trying to explode out of parents that had been repressed and go, “Come on, let’s do it! Whatever! We can do it!” You know?

This includes me.

And, of Paul Smith’s opinion, I totally agree.

I have read a few articles on Gen Y, but most are quite snarky either in misunderstanding or jealousy of said generation. However I see many parallels to what Mr. Smith says. Instagram is the facilitator of many of my counterparts being, ‘very predictable and very cliché and not very spontaneous because they’re very self-conscious about how things should be.’ So is Facebook, however in a less narcissistic kind of way.

Blogs, too.

Most, though not all as Style Bubble pointed out, post the same things or if not that, most information comes in similar formats featuring similar people. I commented, focusing on the aforementioned subject of personal style bloggers, that:

I think that the imagination and creativity associated with blogging is shrinking.
You make a point in saying that personal style blogs are closing off the possibility for other ‘niche’ blogging genres to become as known, read and financially viable. I agree, and as others have commented on capitalism and it’s homogenising effects I won’t lament, though it’s more than that. I think that too many blogs give too much.
It’s like an assault, with an amalgamation of images, text, links, gifs and competitions; where I am supposed to start? And where does it end? I don’t want a universe of you!

I love your blog Susie because it seems to have the perfect amount of everything. Irreverent writing and photos that tie a loop of interest from: ‘What is this?’ ‘That’s cool, what do you think about it?’, and ‘What can it have to do with me?’.

I, a 14-year-old guy, often read Garance Doré’s blog because it’s funny, I find points of view unique and not of my gender/sexuality and it looks great.

The blogs I like the most take me into someone else’s domain, literally, and then leave me there wanting more or leave a little out that I can think about.

The problem with personal style blogs, for me, and the benefit to advertisers is that they are so all-encompassing that they don’t leave anything to chance.

I read that millennials are more concerned about what they do rather than what they have, though for me it seems to be that my generation is more concerned with how they document what they do rather than doing, living and feeling it. iPhones at concerts. Instas at fashion shows. Attendees are taking them right now as I livestream the Hood By Air show. Mostly of Kanye West

I feel that in being too selective in what I post on this blog, I have stopped myself from venting/sharing thoughts and experiences. I frankly don’t care if anyone knows where I go and what I do. But the people I meet are the most important. Anywhere, anyone, sometimes nowhere near fashion or style related can yield the most lively, new and interesting characters. Fashion is now more less about people, with most models hired for being the best clothes hangers to fit a model’s aesthetic rather than inhabiting and selling the clothes to consumers like the supers of the 90’s before. That I’d like to see change. Coincidentally, this came up a few days ago.

I have written for this blog a whole year, but the theme at present wastes a lot of screen space, so I am searching for something more minimal yet expansive. Also I am brainstorming about creating a magazine. Of the printed sort.

It’s not all critical and hypothetical though because London has offered some exploratory experiences in the past year. I now know most of my way around some of Dalston and Shoreditch, so too Soho and Covent Garden. Waiting three and a half hours (!) for Supreme’s AW13 launch, to buy a t-shirt and keyring. Chatting to Sam and his friend who drove from Leicester, who saved lots of cash to get stuff at BAPE and Dover Street Market too. Discovering that Banh Mi 11 are in Soho Tuesday to Friday, not just at Broadway Market on Saturday. Rummaging through piles of decades-old cast offs in the hope of finding a £1 gem, or just something that looks good and fits, at East End Thrift Store’s flea market. I was rewarded with a blue military style shirt, a Polo Sport polo neck and a light grey polo shirt. Also, a massive hobo jumper that I plan to snuggle in when it is cold outside but warm on the couch in front of a movie, or obligatory Christmas special.

Oh, and My So-Called Life has captured my psyche in every way I cannot describe. Claire Danes circa 1994/5 is my crush. She understands me, in the way that only a fictitious television character can. Plus, the awesome 90’s fashion in its lavish entirety is the best.

UPDATE (14/09/13): I found this on Dazed, and it is absolutely hilarious. (And very telling…)

 

2 responses to “Y?

  1. That’s really an amazing post. I can’t believe you’re only 14 : you have such an amazing point of view on the fashion world today, just know that if you go ahead with this magazine idea I’ll be the first to buy it.

    To continue on this whole personal-style-blogs-thing, I think we have to look at all the magazines and the it-girls they’re feeding us, all interchangeable and in the end all similar, forgotten in a week, that gives everyone hope to be one of them someday. This hope is essential to the well-being of everyone on this planet, of course, but most of those it-girls have nothing relevant to say, or at least don’t express themselves enough, and in this world of fast fashion and omnipresent internet, no one is [i]really[/i] trying to be unique and careless about what people think : the blogosphere is just another high school clique, where everyone is just trying to copy the queen bee. If this queen bee has nothing to say, neither will her followers. Just a pile of boring pictures, trying to compensate the lack of real content with the form.
    As you said, I feel like Garance Doré is not of them as she writes a lot of insightful articles with essentials things to stay interesting : wit and history. With every article, we discover more of her, and by this keeps us interested, while still managing to make new readers want to read more. I mean, I litterally spent afternoon just going through the archives of her blog. And that’s what you’re giving us too.
    Anyway, I’ll stop my rant here as I’m not sure where this is going or even if you’ll understand as my english is not as good as I wish it would.
    I hope I’ll be able to read more of you this year,
    a french reader.

    • I can’t tell you how much a comment like yours means to me. Thanks so much for writing a detailed comment, I thought I was the only one who really put the effort into my rambles! 🙂 I hope my French will be as great as your English is one day! I’ve never really thought of the emptiness of personal style society how you explain it, with the queen bees as hollow and so all her followers too, and now you say it, I see that it is really true. And I’ve read a quote somewhere that, ‘Fashion is like high school, only you never really graduate.’ and I guess it exemplifies that. I still love it though…!

      I’m extremely flattered that you even mentioned mine and Garance’s blog in the same sentence, let alone compare the two 😀

      Oh, and I’m taking any submissions for ideas for a possible magazine/zine type thing, so if there is anything you love/hate about current fashion press, I would love to know. Thanks, again.

Leave a Reply

